Alcohol and the Dukan diet

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Alcohol and the Dukan diet

Post  Kgen86 on Sun Jun 06, 2010 2:32 pm

Im new to Dukan attempting to lose 10kg. I am finding it really difficult to avoid the social situations that involve drinking becuase they are a big part of my work and to be frank I quite enjoy a few wines with the girls. I have dramatically cut back, however there are those few occasions where a night out prevails my biggest dieting efforts.
My problem is I cannot seem to find much information about what to do if you do "have a big one" - can any suggest or recommend the best counter attack based on experience or something you have read. I heard no matter where you are in the diet going straight back to Portein only to cut the water but im not sure about the effectiveness of this?
Little help anyone?
Thanks in advance. cheers

Kgen86
Newly Expressive
Newly Expressive

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Not sure if this will help but....

Post  Francesca on Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:29 am

Hi,

I know when I did another low carb diet the advice was that if you were going to drink go for drinks with a 0 carb count such as vodka, bacardi and basically any other clear spirit mixed with a diet mixer or soda water. So if you could handle switching from wine to say a gin and tonic for the duration of the diet you may find this limits the impact on the diet to some extent as the body reacts differently to the calories from alcohol. However be aware that alcohol has more calories than carbs, protein and fat so isn't exactly going to help.

Hope this is of some help.

Smile

Fran

Francesca
Newly Expressive
Newly Expressive

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Know what you mean

Post  maisie on Mon Jun 07, 2010 10:46 am